SEAL Forum Index SEAL
The SEAL Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Page Fault Error

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SEAL Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Posted by: Alexey

I get "page fault error" always starting seal.

I use freedos beta 7 on COMPAQ LTE ELITE 4/75CX NOTEBOOK.


what do I make wrong?
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2002 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Posted by: 62.103.244.94

"I get "page fault error" always starting seal.

I use freedos beta 7 on COMPAQ LTE ELITE 4/75CX NOTEBOOK.


what do I make wrong?"

what CPU? SEAL (any version/distro) needs at least a 486 and 4MB of RAM (8 recommende) and at least a graphics system that is able to show 15bit color depth.

BadSeal is able to run in 256 colors mode, but doesn't work normally and the screen gets scrambled, transparency goes for good, etc.

Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2002 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Posted by: -BadSector=

"I get "page fault error" always starting seal.

I use freedos beta 7 on COMPAQ LTE ELITE 4/75CX NOTEBOOK.


what do I make wrong?"

what CPU? SEAL (any version/distro) needs at least a 486 and 4MB of RAM (8 recommende) and at least a graphics system that is able to show 15bit color depth.

BadSeal is able to run in 256 colors mode, but doesn't work normally and the screen gets scrambled, transparency goes for good, etc.

Back to top
biggyp



Joined: 16 Oct 2001
Posts: 1473
Location: England, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2002 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm guessing it's either a Pentium 75 or a DX4-75 CPU, shouldn't be a problem, seal will run in 8-bit modes but only with some registry tweaks and it looks good awful, could you supply more info about Graphics card, i suspect that may be the problem.

--------------
Email
HomePage
SealStuff
Gallery

ICQ: 91720885
MSN: philharper@hotmail.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
orudge
Administrator


Joined: 07 Oct 2001
Posts: 1332
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2002 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, what graphics card do you have? SEAL 2.0 runs fine for me on my Pentium 75, with a Cirrus Logic graphics card (1MB memory).

--------------
Owen Rudge
http://www.owenrudge.co.uk/

MSN Messenger: orudge@freeuk.com
ICQ: 125455765
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2002 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Posted by: Alexey

The chipset is a
WD90C24 I believe, There is 1024k of video RAM.

Back to top
Amos Vryhof
Administrator


Joined: 15 Oct 2001
Posts: 540
Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2002 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So it's an old Trident card?

--------------
Amos -
seal.dosos.com
Icq: 18238073
AIM: AmosVryhof
MSN Messenger: a.m.o.s@juno.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Amos Vryhof
Administrator


Joined: 15 Oct 2001
Posts: 540
Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2002 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whatever happened to implimenting a tested hardware database?

Per here


--------------
Amos -
seal.dosos.com
Icq: 18238073
AIM: AmosVryhof
MSN Messenger: a.m.o.s@juno.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
orudge
Administrator


Joined: 07 Oct 2001
Posts: 1332
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2002 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know. That never came into existance. Could be a feature on the new site though.

Hmm, I want to know what's happened to my post count on ezboard - it was over 200 before. Probably because older posts have been disappearing, and I very rarely use the service now.

--------------
Owen Rudge
http://www.owenrudge.co.uk/

MSN Messenger: orudge@freeuk.com
ICQ: 125455765
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2002 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Posted by: Ian Scrimger

Owen will you shut the f*** up about your post counts....WHO CARES!!!
Back to top
Amos Vryhof
Administrator


Joined: 15 Oct 2001
Posts: 540
Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2002 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ian, if you have a problem don't result to profanity. People who use it in such ways look uneducated, which makes their opinion worth much less than an intelligent pose.

Owen - That pot was a long time ago...check your last post on ezboard...that is 187 (I think)


--------------
Amos -
seal.dosos.com
Icq: 18238073
AIM: AmosVryhof
MSN Messenger: a.m.o.s@juno.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
orudge
Administrator


Joined: 07 Oct 2001
Posts: 1332
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2002 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't really matter, I was just wondering.

Ian: I don't usually talk about my post count. OK, so I've got the largest post count? So what? At least my posts are usually interesting and relevant, and polite.

Let's end this particular line of conversation here.

--------------
Owen Rudge
http://www.owenrudge.co.uk/

MSN Messenger: orudge@freeuk.com
ICQ: 125455765
[ Edit by orudge on 2002-03-20 13:49 ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
biggyp



Joined: 16 Oct 2001
Posts: 1473
Location: England, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2002 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

don't know if this is correct but
1024x768 256 60
1024x768 16 60
800x600 256 60
800x600 16 60
640x480 256 60
640x480 16 60
would apear to be the screen+chipset capabilites of that one
so editing your registry should allow you to use seal2.

--------------
Email
HomePage
SealStuff
Gallery

ICQ: 91720885
MSN: philharper@hotmail.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
orudge
Administrator


Joined: 07 Oct 2001
Posts: 1332
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2002 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At some point I will try and find time to create a DOS-based configuration utility for graphics, sound, keyboard, etc.

--------------
Owen Rudge
http://www.owenrudge.co.uk/

MSN Messenger: orudge@freeuk.com
ICQ: 125455765
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SEAL Forum Index -> General All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group