SEAL Forum Index SEAL
The SEAL Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Trouble installing Seal2L
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SEAL Forum Index -> New Users
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
1st_Timer



Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 11
Location: Wixom,MI USA

PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2002 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm testing out FreeDOS Beta 8 on an old passive backplane 486/DX2-66 system (all ISA).
When I try to install Seal 2-Lambda (included with the distribution) I get the error messages "protected mode inaccessable" and "load error: get cwsdpmi*b.zip".
I downloaded cwsdpmi5.zip (per suggestion in another thread) and extracted it into the seal install directory. Trying to run cwsdpmi.exe gives me the same "protected mode inaccessable" message. Needless to say, the Seal installer still fails as well.

What am I doing wrong?

[ This Message was edited by: 1st_Timer on 2002-05-03 13:03 ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
lukas139



Joined: 29 Mar 2002
Posts: 293
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2002 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seal 2.00.11 is far more complete than Seal 2 - Lambda, i suggest you use that version.

_________________
Lukas Lipka
My Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
1st_Timer



Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 11
Location: Wixom,MI USA

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2002 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for responding.
I downloaded the Seal binaries zip file and extracted it into the previous directory I had set up.
When I run install.exe I still get the "Protected Mode Not Accessible" message, though the "Get cwsdpmi*b.zip" no longer appears. Trying to run cwsdpmi.exe also gives me the protected mode error message.
Should I be using the Allegro set-up program? Or is that only for sound?
The Seal directory is a sub-directory of the FDOS directory, should it be on the root directory (ie; C:SEAL)?
So far this has been my only obstacle with running FreeDOS on this system. I feel like a complete fool being stymied by a program like this.
Your help is greatly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
biggyp



Joined: 16 Oct 2001
Posts: 1473
Location: England, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2002 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you got any memory managers loading in your config or autoexec?

_________________
http://www.theopencd.org/ - OpenSource for the Masses

Gallery

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
1st_Timer



Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 11
Location: Wixom,MI USA

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2002 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I have himem and emm386 loading in the config.sys (required by other programs I am running on the system).

Should I disable these config lines and load DOS low before installing Seal?

Can I re-enable them after installing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
orudge
Administrator


Joined: 07 Oct 2001
Posts: 1332
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2002 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try and comment out HIMEM.SYS and EMM386.EXE from your CONFIG.SYS. Also, don't run CWSDPMI.EXE directly - just run SEAL.EXE. In 2.00.11, you don't need CWSDPMI.EXE for running SEAL (although you do need it for the Registry Editor, DLXINSD, DLXMAKE, DLXGEN and most other tools).

Hope this helps.

_________________
Owen Rudge
http://www.owenrudge.net/

Currently Playing (last time I was online, anyway):
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
1st_Timer



Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 11
Location: Wixom,MI USA

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2002 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you!
I will try that as soon as possible. This is a side project at work (not part of my "official" duties) and may be viewed as "playing" on company time.

I will post back with my results.
Thanks again for the continuing help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
1st_Timer



Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 11
Location: Wixom,MI USA

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2002 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partial success.
Seal installed, but it refuses to recognize my mouse (which loads just fine with ctmouse) and won't believe that I have no sound card ("can't initialise sound" error message). I have run the allegro setup program from inside the seal2 directory, but it won't respond to the mouse and doesn't seem to make any changes to the configuration.
I had to use regedit to force 256-color mode (using an old 1-Meg Diamond Speedstar A20 ISA).
Should I also place the source code in the same install directory as the binaries and re-install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
biggyp



Joined: 16 Oct 2001
Posts: 1473
Location: England, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2002 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

having the source code in place shouldn't make any difference, you are running ctmouse prior to starting seal or the allegro setup program aren't you?

_________________
http://www.theopencd.org/ - OpenSource for the Masses

Gallery

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
1st_Timer



Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 11
Location: Wixom,MI USA

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2002 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I am running ctmouse beforehand.
I did try once without and received a "no mouse" fatal error in Seal. Is it correct to be running Allegro from the Seal2 directory?
This is becoming a rather frustrating program to configure and (hopefully) use.
Am I trying to run it on an underpowered system?

[ This Message was edited by: 1st_Timer on 2002-05-07 12:23 ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
biggyp



Joined: 16 Oct 2001
Posts: 1473
Location: England, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2002 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, we dont know the specs of your system, let us know, i am afraid i'm baffled at the moment, maybe owen can help.

_________________
http://www.theopencd.org/ - OpenSource for the Masses

Gallery

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
1st_Timer



Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 11
Location: Wixom,MI USA

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2002 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looking back at my first post, I see my information was a bit lacking.

Texas Microsystems industrial computer (the system board is a full-size ISA card that plugs into a backplane that has about 12 ISA slots in it.)
486-DX2/66 CPU
16MB RAM
233MB IDE hard drive
3.5" floppy drive (1)
ISA video card (1MB, WD Paradise graphics chip)
IBM XT keyboard
MS serial mouse
FreeDOS Beta 8 operating system

I hope this provides enough information.
I was able to get this system to run Windows 95 previously, it just ran agonizingly slow.

Almost punch-out time here, hopefully I can pick up with you again tomorrow.
Thanks again for all the helpful direction.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Amos Vryhof
Administrator


Joined: 15 Oct 2001
Posts: 540
Location: United States

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2002 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like a system I pulled from a dumpster once, but mine wasn't a 66 until I popped the 33 and dropped the 66 in it.

Do other programs that use the Mouse work? For example, RHIDE or MS-DOS Edit?

Or try This Program to test your mouse functionality.

_________________
Amos


[url=mailto:18238073@pager.icq.com]Msg@Home[/url]
[url=mailto:154644152@pager.icq.com]Msg@Work[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
1st_Timer



Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 11
Location: Wixom,MI USA

PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2002 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Amos! The test program proved that the mouse was not being detected (MS PS-2 mouse with PS-to-serial adapter). I scrounged up an old serial mouse and things started working. I can run Seal by itself, but almost all my DOS programs need a memory manager running. All those programs refuse to run with Seal (insufficient memory errors).
Following a link from the FreeDOS page, I downloaded Desktop 2. That allows himem and emm386 to run. So far all my programs run great under that.
If I get a Pentium-class PC to play around with I may try Seal again.
Thanks again everyone for all the patient help given.

George Teufel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
orudge
Administrator


Joined: 07 Oct 2001
Posts: 1332
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2002 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried SEAL with your new mouse with just HIMEM.SYS loaded, but not EMM386.EXE?

<BLATANT PLUG FOR ANOTHER PROJECT OF MINE>
BTW, if you still can't get SEAL to work, try FreeGEM - it's small, fast and there are many apps available for it.
</BLATANT PLUG FOR ANOTHER PROJECT OF MINE>
_________________
Owen Rudge
http://www.owenrudge.co.uk/

MSN Messenger: orudge@freeuk.com
ICQ: 125455765

[ This Message was edited by: orudge on 2002-05-08 14:08 ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SEAL Forum Index -> New Users All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group