SEAL Forum Index SEAL
The SEAL Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

problem

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SEAL Forum Index -> Technical Issues
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Robomop



Joined: 23 Aug 2002
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 5:51 pm    Post subject: problem Reply with quote

Hi
I have a ibm thinkpad 755cx with a westerdigital graphics chip
Seal works fine inside windows95 but if i try run it in real dos it just says your card dosent support 640x480x256 (cant remember exactally but its something like that)

the graphics chip has vesa1 in its bios and im sure it dose support the mode because it works fine in windows

can any one help ?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robomop



Joined: 23 Aug 2002
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2002 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry i should have posted this in the technical forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul Crighton



Joined: 11 Jan 2002
Posts: 49
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2002 10:40 pm    Post subject: Help is here... Reply with quote

Try doing a search using UNIVBE 5.1 and CWSDPMI in conjunction with each other, then make a batch program to utilize these programs to load Seal into pure dos; otherwise use REGEDIT in the Seal 2.00.xx main directory to edit your .ini file to 256 colours (8 bit)...

If that don't work I don't know what else to suggest!

Best Of Luck,
Paul Crighton
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
orudge
Administrator


Joined: 07 Oct 2001
Posts: 1332
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2002 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Topic moved to Technical Issues.
_________________
Owen Rudge
http://www.owenrudge.net/

Currently Playing (last time I was online, anyway):
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Robomop



Joined: 23 Aug 2002
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2002 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tnx for the help i found CWSDPMI first time but im still searching for UNIVBE

thanks for moving the thred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Amos Vryhof
Administrator


Joined: 15 Oct 2001
Posts: 540
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2002 3:13 pm    Post subject: Thinkpad 755CD Reply with quote

I have a 755CD and have been able to run Seal after using Display Doctor. It comes out really horrible looking, so I think it might be a problem with our WD Video chip.

I didn't really try too hard to get it working, so I could be a little off line here as far as actual functionality.
_________________
Amos


[url=mailto:18238073@pager.icq.com]Msg@Home[/url]
[url=mailto:154644152@pager.icq.com]Msg@Work[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Robomop



Joined: 23 Aug 2002
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2002 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think in the tearms of compatability the WD Video chip is probably the worst chip ever its realy slow and the offical driver dose not support the direct x buffer so games that dont use much processing power like Command and Conqure dont work

but I will give that Display Doctor a try
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robomop



Joined: 23 Aug 2002
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2002 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I downloaded a few versions of Univbe
first a verry old version univesa.exe (small download)
actually detects the correct card info but seal dose not work at all
then i got Univbe 5.1a (another small d/l) it detects the wrong card and seal starts but all graphics are messedup

finally i downloaded univbe 7 (5 meg d/l 10 meg installed) for some reason it will not work at all it says program too big to fit in memory

so if i want to use seal i have to run it in windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SEAL Forum Index -> Technical Issues All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group